Pain in the ass method for making cake pops

If you read blogs often you’ve probably seen dozens of cake pop tutorials already. Most of them I would imagine have useful tips and make it look super easy. Not this one. Although they looked pretty presentable by the end and my sister loved them they were not as easy as I expected. This was most probably due to my high expectation of ease, and a little to do with my wilton candy melts not playing nicely.

DSCF1025[1]

So here goes, my step by step guide on how to make cake pops more hard work than they need to be:

1) Acquire lovely cake pop goodies for christmas. Think ‘oh, wilton candy melts, I can’t wait to see how easy these are to use’

2) Wait for appropriate time to make cake pops, my sisters birthday happened to be coming up, how convenient.

3) Get into the kitchen, look at recipe on silicone mold. Recipe is for 40 cake pops, mold only holds 20. Half recipe and hope it works.

4) Take cake pop mold out of oven, become impatient and take a sneaky peak inside. Be super giddy that you have perfect baby spheres of cake ready to be smothered in smooth candy melts.

5) Melt down white candy melts. ‘Oh, this is thicker than I expected but it should be fine.’ Dip sticks in, then stabs baby cakes. So far so good.

6) Sticks first cake pop in candy melts, start swirling around, pull stick out…uh-oh where’s the cake? Try again with another pop, nope, no use. Stick swizzles out every time.

7) Resort to ‘pouring’ candy melts over cake, finally, most of them are covered. Fail to find an easy way to keep them upright. Oh bum.

8) Sprinkle with lots of sprinkles to cover up mess.

9) Finally run out of naughty white candy melts, switch to dark chocolate candy melts. Thank god, these melts work so much better, shame I only have three cake pops left. They even worked when twizzled around.


DSCF1029[1]

 

10) Fiddle for a long time cutting cellophane bags and tying them with bakers twine to make pretty little pops.
DSCF1030[1]

In the end I do think they looked quite cute, and seeing my sisters face when she saw them made it worth while. However I don’t know what it was about those white melts but they were not being cooprative. I wish I’d have started with the dark chocolate melts instead, they were much more how I imagined.

nellie nose signature

 

 

One thought on “Pain in the ass method for making cake pops

Leave a Reply

